City Council


  • Times posted on the agenda
  • 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month
  • City Hall
    101 E Main Street
    Forney, TX 75126

Council meetings are open to the public as provided by the Open Meetings Act (Government Code, Chapter 551). The Forney City Council, along with all other councils and commissions within the City are administered through rules and procedures approved by the City Council. Those rules and procedures are linked on the website. 

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Jason Roberson, Mayor


James Traylor, Place 1


Cecil Chambers, Place 2


Sandi Primous, Place 3


Sarah Salgado, Mayor Pro Tem, Place 4


Zahnd Schlensker, Place 5


Greg Helm, Place 6



Other rules of meeting procedure are established by the City Council and are not subject to Roberts Rules of Order, although the council follows similar procedure. The City Council may act by ordinance, resolution or motion.


City Council members are elected for staggered 2-year terms.

Place Number

While the City Council is elected by place number, the number is for candidacy purposes only and each member represents the entire population of Forney.


Among other authorities granted by state law and the Home Rule Charter adopted by the citizens of Forney, the City Council:

  • Adopts the annual budget
  • Annexes property into the city limits
  • Appoints the City Manager, City Secretary, City Attorney, and Municipal Court Judges
  • Approves certain city expenditures
  • Awards contracts and bids
  • Establishes development standards
  • Makes appointments to boards and committees
  • Regulates zoning
  • Sets the annual property tax rate for the City of Forney